Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at The Oak Barn, Devon

Floating on Air



Adam proposed to Emer on her birthday in the heart of the capital. "He picked me up from work in a taxi and whisked me off to the Millennium Bridge," recalls Emer. "He told me he had booked tickets to see the Damien Hirst exhibition at the Tate Modern (on the opposite side of the bridge). When we reached the middle of the bridge he stopped me and proposed - much to the amusement of the passing crowds."



Falling for the rural charms of The Oak Barn, the couple envisioned a relaxed and personal wedding brimming with fun details and memorable moments. "Our amazing group of friends came together to dress the venue from top to bottom. It was all designed and marshalled by the amazing Jemma Lessware," explains Emer. A palette of white, orange and gold carried through the barn and gardens, from the carnival of helium balloons and bunting to the paper lanterns strewn throughout the trees.



Setting the tone for their fun-filled day, Emer and Adam requested that everyone wore a hat or some form of headwear. This made for some brilliant photos, as guests rolled up in everything from a fez and sombrero to antlers! Emer, meanwhile, wore a vintage Pierre Cardin dress and Adam a sharp blue suit - and both accessorised with an array of different headwear throughout the day.



Rather appropriately, the newly-weds donned crowns as they took their seats for the wedding breakfast: a Lebanese mezze with koftas, houmous, kebabs and other exotic flavours. "We served dinner buffet style and gave each table a TV show (we put an iconic picture of a show on each table)," says Emer. "When their TV theme tune played it was time to be served. I loved being able to play classics like the themes from 'Grange Hill', 'The Magic Roundabout' and 'Baywatch'."



The first dance also provided a talking point. "We started off with a hideously slushy ballad. With a noisy record scratch, this turned into 'Where's Your Head At?' by Basement Jaxx. We pulled out glow-sticks and went bonkers," recalls Emer. The dance floor shenanigans continued with a special performance from the ladies. "I didn't have a hen do. Instead I had a hen dance. I got all the girls onto the dance floor and we danced (crazily) to 'Maniac' from Flashdance," she says. Her Dad's speech, however, provided her favourite moment. "It had everyone laughing and crying," she recalls.



As well as endorsing the benefits of involving your friends and keeping a cool head, Emer proffers these wise words: "Make your thank you speech as a couple. Otherwise the only people who speak are the men and that seems odd these days. Also, try and write down your memories the next day. You think you will remember every moment forever. You won't. For some reason, within a week it will all become a bit hazy."



Photography Helen Lisk www.helenliskphotography.co.uk
Venue The Oak Barn, Hittisleigh www.theoakbarn.co.uk
Styling Jemma Lessware
Dress Vintage Pierre Cardin from William Vintage www.williamvintage.com
Bridesmaid dresses John Lewis www.johnlewis.com
Hair Jodie Lywood www.jodielywood.wix.com/weddingoccasionhair
Make-up Eve Ashby www.eveashby.co.uk
Groom's outfit Paul Smith www.paulsmith.co.uk
Catering Franckly Delicious www.francklydelicious.co.uk
Cake Anna Chalcraft www.hollandparkfarm.co.uk
Entertainment Big Daddy https://myspace.com/bdband

Copyright Wed magazine 2014

Featured Directory Links