Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Trerethern Farm, Cornwall

Colours of Love



Chloe and Ben's colourful wedding weekend in Padstow

Chloe and Ben knew each other from secondary school, but it wasn’t until they chanced upon each other years later at a mutual friend’s party that they noticed a spark.

“We spent the evening flirting with each other,” reveals Chloe. “This was the start of good things to come. From there, we started meeting up regularly in London and our relationship blossomed quickly.”









Having expected him to pop the question during their six-month motorhome trip around southern Europe, Chloe’s expectations of a proposal had dwindled on their return when Ben decided to pick his moment during a walk in the park. 

“It was a beautiful day and in a very rare moment there was absolutely no one in the park. We were strolling around and then Ben said, 'You know I love you, right?'. I turned around and he was on one knee with a ring. I couldn't have been more shocked!” says Chloe.









With family ties to the county, Chloe and Ben decided that Cornwall was the perfect place to marry, and, falling in love with Padstow, they decided to tie the knot at St Petroc’s Church before a marquee reception at Trerethern Farm.









“We wanted our wedding to be super relaxed and for each guest to feel really special; we knew if they loved it then we would have an amazing day too. We put most of our budget into the food and drink to ensure guests were looked after!” explains Chloe, who selected a theme of ‘colour’ to style their day. 









A striking palette of yellow, dark pink, red and teal blue were carried throughout, from the bridesmaids’ dresses to the flowers. “We had a marquee in the middle of a field with incredible scenery surrounding us; we wanted pops of colour everywhere and for the outside to be inside,” says Chloe, who worked with wedding planner Rebecca at The Unique Cornish Event Company to achieve her vision. 









Flowers were another key element of the day’s design, with Cat from Tide Flowers interpreting the ‘luxe festival vibes’ brief to show-stopping effect. Chloe’s beautiful bouquet featured tulips and peonies mixed with greenery and ferns, while an incredible hanging flower display was suspended from a ladder over the top table. 









Canapés including oysters and a whole leg of Iberico ham were followed by a feast of mackerel, rib of beef with dauphinoise potatoes, and white chocolate mousse. The eye-catching floral-themed cake, comprising three tiers of carrot, caramel and lemon flavours, went down a treat, as did the evening’s infectious soundtrack from Disco Shed and the fun photos, props and backdrops provided by Flicksbox.









The following day, guests returned to the farm for games, food and more drinks, including bespoke Bloody Marys served by airstream bar, The Buffalo. “We hosted the Cornwall Olympics and had games such as the surf machine, hook a duck and a pasty-eating competition!” says Chloe.









“Start early, make a plan, and do things little by little,” she says by word of planning advice. “Split the responsibilities and share the planning – it makes it fun and it's a day for both of you,” she encourages couples. “For example, Ben took control of organising the food and drink, and I did décor and flowers, but we both made the decisions together.”









Photography Toby Lowe Photography tobylowephotography.co.uk
Venue St Petroc's Church padstowparishchurch.org.uk 
Trerethern Farm trerethernfarm.com
Marquee Absolute Canvas absolutecanvas.co.uk
Wedding planning The Unique Cornish Event Company theuniquecornishevent.co.uk
Dress Ronald Joyce ronaldjoyce.com
Bridesmaids’ dresses Mix Bridal mixbridal.com
Groom & best man’s outfits T.M. Lewin tmlewin.co.uk
Groomsmen’s outfits Moss Bros moss.co.uk
Hair LJP Bridal ljpbridalhair.co.uk
Flowers Tide Flowers tideflowers.co.uk
Cake Peboryon peboryon.com
Evening Food Woody’s Pizza facebook.com/woodyspizzacornwall
Props The Prop Factory thepropfactory.co.uk
Stationery Papier papier.com
Transport Premier Carriage premiercarriage.co.uk
Bar The Buffalo thebuffalo.co.uk
Entertainment Disco Shed discoshed.com 
Flicksbox flicksbox.co.uk