Wedding Receptions in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding Styling Cornwall

Wedding styling: gothic opulence meets industrial chic

Feminine & ethereal with greenery & lace, the lightness of this shoot is undercut with an industrial aesthetic & nouveau-gothic touches of dark florals


Once a functioning bakery on Truro's Blewett's Wharf, Old Bakery Studios is now home to a collection of studios and an emerging event space. Maintaining its authentic charm, it's a blank canvas, perfectly created to dress for a wedding. The River Room has a bright and airy feel, while the main space is dark and moody, resplendent in its atmospheric sense of gothic charm.

The perfect offset to the industrial backdrop of distressed walls and scaffolding comes through the sumptuous notes of the table setting, combining velvet drapery, cut-glass crystal and silver charger plates with an old-world tarnish.


Berry and forest tones and textures of moss dominate, bringing a sense of woodland serenity into the moodiness of the industrial setting. Eclectic details, including vintage trunks and a tea light-lined aisle, are adorned with flowers and foliage in rich shades of purple and blue, alongside cream ranunculi and white anemones. With a nod to the Pantone colour of the year, ultraviolet, the dessert table continues the theme of gothic opulence, adding plump blueberries and the decadence of dark chocolate.

Everything rough and distressed is given a sense of luxe lustre - the industrial breezeblock walls are dressed in festoon lighting; the flowing gown is embroidered with delicate detail; the wild florals have a perfect quality to their simplicity. Metals, cement, peeling paint - tamed by plush berry tones and luxurious fabrics.

words Lucy Higgins

Photography Mimosa Photography mimosaphotography.uk
Styling & event management The Unique Cornish Event Company theuniquecornishevent.co.uk Emma Halliday instagram.com/emmahallidayevent
Venue Old Bakery Studios oldbakerystudios.co.uk
Clothing & accessories Roamer Rose roamerrose.com
Flowers Tide Flowers tideflowers.co.uk
Make-up Tamsyn Siddiqui cornwallweddingmake-up.co.uk
Hair Kathryn Charlesworth klhairandmakeup.com
Food Punk Thai punkthai.co.uk
Desserts Pura Pressed purapressed.co.uk
Lights Say It With Lights sayitwithlights.co.uk
Celebrants The Cornish Celebrants cornishcelebrants.co.uk
Stationery Weddings by Medlin Designs medlindesign.com
Models Ellen King, Katy King, Jess Sander-Moore, James Wardo

Copyright Wed magazine 2018