Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at The Oak Barn, Devon

Garden Party



Harriet and Tristan's relaxed wedding at The Oak Barn

"We chose The Oak Barn in Hittisleigh as our venue, which is owned by my parents," explains Harriet. "I wouldn't have wanted it anywhere else!" Choosing a setting close to her heart was just the start of the poignant touches that made her wedding to Tristan, who she first met at school, so romantic and personal.



"I wore my great-grandmother's wedding dress. She got married just over 80 years ago," explains Harriet. "It was beautifully restored by Sarah Treble who also made my veil." She completed the look with a floral headdress made by Rivka Jacobs from the same silk used for the lining of the dress, and a bouquet of soft pastel blooms which carried the garden party feel of the day. An abundance of fresh flowers - arranged in jam jars wrapped in lace - echoed the mood perfectly, as did the seed packet table names, hand-painted cake and pretty bunting strewn across the gardens. The elegant pale pink bridesmaid dresses and Tristan's dapper blue suit - accessorised with a pink buttonhole - completed the picture.





The ceremony took place in the idyllic setting of St Andrew's Church - "It's quite a small church so everyone had to squeeze in!" says Harriet. Afterwards, guests wandered to over to the terrace of The Oak Barn for canapes, cocktails and lawn games in the sunshine, while Emma Lauran lent a stirring guitar soundtrack. Guests then settled into the barn for a hog roast served with fresh salads and new potatoes and the speeches, which provided a standout moment for Harriet. "The speeches were incredible," she reflects. "I was a bit nervous considering Tristan and my Dad were still writing theirs on the morning of the wedding!"





After sneaking off for a surprise change of dress for the first dance, the moments as she re-entered the barn made for her favourite moment of the day. "Our best man got everyone into the hall and Tristan was waiting on the dance floor," she recalls. "When I walked in, the hall and the balcony were completely full with people. It was incredible to see everyone we loved in one space and so moving to know that they were all there for us."





This wonderful moment marked the start of the evening celebrations, where a delicious array of cheeses and chutneys satiated appetites and a party playlist saw guests grooving on the dance floor into the small hours.





Photography Nova Photography www.novaweddingphotography.co.uk
Venue The Oak Barn www.theoakbarn.co.uk
Dress restored by Sarah Treble Couture www.sarahtreble.co.uk
Headdress Rivka Jacobs www.rivkajacobs-millinery.com
Bridesmaid dresses Ted Baker www.tedbaker.com
Hair Zoe Ballagher at Viva Hair www.vivahair134.co.uk
Make-up Eve Ashby www.eveashby.co.uk
Groom's outfit Marks and Spencer www.marksandspencer.com
Flowers supplied by Peamore Flora www.peamoreflora.co.uk
Bouquets and buttonholes Amanda Winsor Freelance Florist www.winsorflowerstudio.co.uk
Entertainment Emma Lauran www.youtube.com/user/emmalauran
Twilight Disco 07967 156466

Copyright Wed magazine 2015

Featured Directory Links