Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Lusty Glaze

Seaside Delights



Clare and Steve's personality-packed celebration at Lusty Glaze

Clare and Steve's beachside celebrations thoroughly spoiled their guests with a crowd-pleasing array of food and entertainment in the spectacular setting of Lusty Glaze.



"Our theme was a mixture of beach, shabby chic and scrabble letters (carried by the cufflinks and rings)," explains Clare. Their personalised party space was packed with character: there was a bespoke seaside themed photo booth; retro photos of guests for place settings; and beautiful seasonal blooms and foliage spilling from bottles and jam jars. Echoing the eclectic mood, the five bridesmaids wore Twobirds' dresses in different shades, while Clare donned an ethereal gown by Claire Pettibone.



The people who surrounded the couple on the day were so central to proceedings that it was a group moment that sticks in Clare's mind as one of her favourites. "After the ceremony, we walked out onto the beach as man and wife and were greeted by all our guests: the informality and spontaneity was perfect for me and just what I strived for," she says.



The sensory feast kicked off with canapes, arrival drinks and cocktails courtesy of a mixologist. A magnificent mix of entertainment saw a magician, photo booth and beach volleyball amuse guests before they tucked into a meat and fish barbecue. Handmade beef and black pepper burgers, barbecue-marinated chicken wings, farmhouse sausages and soy, sesame and chilli-marinated tuna steak was served alongside the tasty likes of roasted new potatoes, corn on the cob and red cabbage coleslaw.



The speeches - including one from the bridesmaids - were followed by further edible delights in the form of Cornish cream teas and wedding cake, which comprised four Cornish cheeses. As dusk fell, Plastic Pantomime filled the dance floor with their set of indie rock covers.



The couple had a surprise in store at the end of the evening: a vintage open-top double-decker bus was waiting to whisk just the two of them to The Scarlet Hotel. "This was an unforgettable and quite surreal moment as we drove through the narrow country lanes of Cornwall with Lionel Richie being pumped out on the loudspeaker from the bus," recalls Clare. "A truly perfect end to the perfect day."





Clare offers some top tips to couples keen to plan a day as distinctive and personal as theirs. "Be true to yourself - have what you want and who you want, and not what others want you to have," she recommends. "Pick your wedding party very closely, they will make or break your memories." She also makes a special mention for their chosen wedding suppliers: "They were all absolutely amazing and made planning a complete breeze and our day so special!"



Photography Keith Riley www.keithriley.co.uk
Venue Lusty Glaze www.lustyglaze.co.uk
Dress Claire Pettibone at Serendipity Brides www.serendipitybrides.co.uk
Bridesmaids' dresses Twobirds www.twobirdsbridesmaid.co.uk
Hair Francesca Celeste at Abacus www.abacushair.co.uk
Make-up Sally Orchard www.cornwallmakeupartist.co.uk
Groom's outfit Callaghan Tailor 0121 643 7334
Flowers The Blue Carrot www.thebluecarrot.co.uk
Stationery Sarah Wants www.sarahwants.com
Cupcakes The Pink Elephant Cake Company 
Cake toppers Betty Fudge www.facebook.com/Bettyfudgedesign
Videography Foster Filming www.fosterfilming.com
Transport Strawberry Leisure 
Entertainment Plastic Pantomime www.plasticpantomime.co.uk
David Willmott www.davidwillmott.com
Polka Dot Fox www.polkadotfox.co.uk
Zest Mixology www.zestmixology.co.uk

Copyright Wed magazine 2016

Featured Directory Links