Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at The Great Barn, Devon

Nature Lovers



Natural details and hints of mint lent a romantic, rustic atmosphere to Claire and Joe’s barn wedding

Fate stepped in for Claire and Joe one Boxing Day against the unlikely backdrop of the Whimple Fun Bus. “We were on the way to watch Exeter Chiefs play Harlequins away, and we have never looked back – best bus journey ever!” says Claire.



In similarly memorable style, a pre-Christmas proposal took place at the location of their first date on Woodbury Common, where Joe proposed with a wooden ring that he made himself. “We went into the woods and he got down on one knee, I didn’t know what was happening so I got down on one knee and joined him!” recalls Claire. “We then sat in the woods, drank champagne and ate olives while I tried to stop crying and shaking with excitement and happiness!”



The Great Barn was the stunning venue of choice for their “natural rustic barn wedding”, where lashings of lace, hessian and mint green touches created a soft, romantic aesthetic. Arrangements of flowers in muted shades of pink, cream and peach were a key feature and spilled from jugs and jars wrapped in lace and hessian suspended from the trees.



Flanked by her bridesmaids dressed in mint green, Claire made her entrance in a gorgeous Ian Stuart gown accessorised with a pair of Jimmy Choos. “Walking down the aisle with my dad to ‘Pachelbel's Canon’ and then making eye contact with my husband-to-be was the most amazing, emotional moment – and a feeling that will never be forgotten,” she reveals.



After the vows, guests were greeted in the garden by the soulful acoustic sound of Richard James as Prosecco and Pimm’s did the rounds alongside a delicious array of canapés. The feast continued with appetisers such as roast tomato and onion soup and cured pork, wild boar and apple terrine, followed by roast sirloin of Devon beef, roast guinea fowl and spinach, mascarpone and thyme tart. A tantalising trio of desserts comprising chocolate brownie, summer berry pavlova and mini raspberry brûlée – and later on – a platter of Tom’s Pies and cheese – completed the day’s magnificent menu line-up, while Joey the Lips’ high energy set of funky grooves ensured the dance floor was buzzing all night long.



Looking back, Claire encourages other couples to be disciplined with the organisation, but relaxed on the day itself. “Try to be organised from the day you start planning the wedding to the day you tie the knot,” she advises. “Be open to suggestions and to make as many of the decorations yourself.”



“But remember: it is only one day so enjoy every moment and do not stress!” she adds. “If it’s not done the day before, don’t put yourself under pressure to get it done, it will only be you and your new husband that will know – and that can be your newly married secret!”



Photography Helen Lisk www.helenliskphotography.co.uk
Venue The Great Barn www.thegreatbarndevon.co.uk
Catering Dartmoor Kitchen www.dartmoorkitchen.com
Dress Ian Stuart at La Novia www.lanovia.co.uk
Bridesmaids’ dresses Ted Baker www.tedbaker.com
Hair Energy Hair Spa www.energyhair.com
Make-up Claire Bowring Hair www.clairebowring.co.uk
Groom’s outfit Marc Wallace www.marcwallace.com Jonathan Hawkes www.jonathanhawkes.co.uk
Flowers Rosie the Florist www.rosietheflorist.co.uk
Entertainment Richards James www.richardjamesofficial.com
Joey the Lips www.joeythelips.co.uk

Copyright Wed magazine 2015