Wedding Receptions in Cornwall and Devon

Outdoor wedding style

Wedding styling: outdoor wedding reception style

Gorgeous styling inspiration for a wedding in the great outdoors


Taking the rural charms of Trevella Manor as the beautifully beguiling backdrop for this styled shoot, attention to natural-inspired detail combines with the wildly picturesque outdoor location to jaw-dropping effect.

The flowers were one of the lead elements, as shoot stylist and coordinator Kera Jay explains: "We wanted the flowers to be bright and beautiful. Brookside Flower Farms grows her own flowers and working alongside her was a pleasure. She is passionate about her farm and her beautiful attention to floral detail. I believe that one of the main parts of a wedding is to get the florals correct with how you want the day to feel; they can create different feelings within a wedding."

Combining the calm and relaxed properties of blue with the more playful and romantic tones of pink, the layered colour scheme was achieved in a number of eye-catching ways, from the floristry to the stationery, decor and tableware. Striking low level floral arrangements in the shoot's main shades accented with foliage and sun-yellow pops were placed upon a sky blue runner as the main focal point of the tablescape, while delicate crockery with vintage floral design, textured glassware, pastel-coloured table settings and elegantly tapered candlesticks complete the oh-so sweet look.

A drinks station adorned with a mini floral arch was laden with brightly coloured fresh fruit and Cornish sparkling botanic wine from Floreat, serving as another stylistic centrepiece for guests to admire.

The couple are another on-trend vision, the groom sporting a three-piece dark grey check suit and the bride a gorgeously fitted A-line with floral applique and transparent neckline and sleeves. A beautifully bold floral crown and bouquet finish her outfit and nod to the spellbinding country surrounds that frame the alfresco reception space.

"An important part of the shoot was that it would be outdoors," says Kera. "Small intimate outdoor weddings are very popular for 2020 and 2021. There have also been more garden weddings due to the pandemic. We wanted to show couples that you can still have a beautiful small and intimate wedding."

Credits
Venue - Trevella Manor trevellamanor.co.uk/wedding-venue
Planner - Kera Jay Weddings kerajaysweddingssevents.co.uk
Videographer - I Do Film Weddings idofilmweddings.co.uk
Flowers - Brookside Flower Farm brookside-farm.co.uk
Dried flower crown - Forever Wild instagram.com/forever_wild_cd
Photography - Kitaen Photographic facebook.com/kitaenphotographic/
Hawkwood Photography hawkwoodphotography.co.uk 
Bridal dress - Tavistock Bridal Reloved bridalreloved.co.uk/shops/tavistock
Groom's outfit - Mckay Menswear prudencegowns.com
Wine - Floreat Wines floreatwines.com
Styling - Kerra Jay Weddings kerajaysweddingssevents.co.uk Shelley Hartley Interiors facebook.com/shelleyhartleyinteriors/
Stationery & signs - Scarlet Jade Design facebook.com/ScarletJadeDesign/
Hair & make-up - Bohemia Beauty bohemiabeauty.org
Models - Jade Bain & JoshWa Andrew Mcconaghy

Copyright Wed magazine 2021