Wedding Receptions in Cornwall and Devon

Bohemian Dream

Wedding styling: bohemian pastels and pampas

Pampas grass, muted hues and boho-beautiful fashions at Boconnion


Set amidst a secluded valley in the heart of Cornwall, new wedding venue Boconnion offers romance and rural charm in equal measure. The cluster of refurbished buildings, including a Georgian manor house, farmhouse, and reception barn, together with acres of gardens and ancient oak woodland, also offers a versatile canvas for a wedding, as this styled shoot illustrates in oh-so dreamy style. 









“When you book Boconnion for a weekend wedding, the choices of where to entertain your guests are endless, so I wanted to show couples the various options we offer,” explains wedding planner Caroline Griffiths, who coordinated the shoot. Whether it’s timelessly classic or contemporary chic, this charm-packed venue has a beautiful backdrop to suit and, here, a relaxed, bohemian vibe was the starting point.









The team drew inspiration from the season for the aesthetic of the shoot. “As it was spring, we chose pastel colours and lots of pampas grass,” says Caroline. “The focal point was the Absolute Canvas marquee on the lawn. I wanted to create a space where couples could have their marquee wedding in a chilled environment as well as using the heated swimming pool for a chill-out area.” 









Pampas grass clouds make stunning focal points against the cream canvas of the traditional marquee, while shades of oatmeal and blush pink, together with gold cutlery and rattan charger plates, capture the soft palette and earthy textures that underpin the shoot. 









The cakes – a gorgeous trio of confections decorated with barely-there shades, dried palms, pampas grass and delicate florals – follow suit. Dainty petals also feature on grazing boards filled with local flavours, illustrating how your dishes can slot seamlessly into your wedding scheme, offering sensory delight on multiple levels. 









Every element is about romance, from the pretty pastels of the stationery to the guipure lace, tiered skirt, and balloon sleeves of the wedding dress. Accessorised with a floral-filled fedora sitting atop soft golden curls and a bouquet of cream and pink blooms, pampas, feathers, and shimmery lunaria, the look marries modern boho with a gorgeously ethereal edge.









With her groom echoing the laidback mood in a pink suit, the couple roam the green spaces and picturesque nooks of Boconnion, stopping for loved-up moments beneath an arch bedecked with pampas grass and peacock chairs, and lounging by the pool with a cocktail – a dream setting for a fun, relaxed and oh-so boho wedding.










Venue Boconnion boconnion.co.uk
Photography Steven Prebble stevenprebble.com
Film I Do Film Weddings idofilmweddings.co.uk
Coordination & planning Caroline Griffiths carolinegriffiths.co.uk
Creative stylist & stationery Knots & Kisses knotsandkisses.co.uk
Styling & floral installations The Youngest Child theyoungestchild.com
Assistant coordinator Art of Weddings artofweddings.uk
Marquee Absolute Canvas absolutecanvas.co.uk
Dress House of St Patrick La Sposa, Bridal Gossip bridalgossip.co.uk
Hair & make-up KH Bridal Hair & Makeup khbridal.com
Props Keeping it Vintage keepingitvintage.co.uk
Flowers Floribunda Cornwall floribundacornwall.co.uk
Bar The Copper Cat thecoppercat.co.uk
Childcare tipi Cornwall Childcare cornwallchildcare.com
Cake The Cornish Cakery thecornishcakery.co.uk
Catering Beautiful and the Feast beautifulandthefeast.com
Models Sarah & Tom