Wedding Receptions in Cornwall and Devon

Colourful Wedding Receptions

Colour pop candy

Mix playful details with colour pop features for a festival, rock chick style wedding replete with character


"It all starts with the decadent yellow 'Morning' room at Tawstock Court that gave us the inspiration," says Laura Farmer from Freeform Images who shot this bright and bold styled shoot.

"It bursts with bright yellow and when the sun streams through the windows everyone comments on how happy this room feels - hence we wanted to show just how much colour can enhance any wedding and create an amazing atmosphere," she says of the brief behind the inspirational-filled editorial.

With head-turning bridal looks fusing colourful florals and statement heels with unique accessories and a range of hair and make-up, from romantic updos to punk pink hair complete with contrasting floral headbands, the fashion is as forward-thinking as the decor.

Featuring an on-trend feminine floral print high-low gown alongside a champagne satin gown with lace beaded bodice and trellis sparkle sleeves for a more classic look, as well as a fun, full sleeved sweetheart high-low gown and Georgette princess seamed fit and flare gown with a beaded cape - an eclectic range of bridal ensembles are captured amongst Tawstock Court's variety of backdrops.

Meanwhile, the denim jackets - painted by Sammy Lea's Retro Emporium in Ilfracombe - added a bright and contemporary twist to the dress styling, giving an edgy feel to the slightly irreverent shoot, which formed the undercurrent throughout.

"The gold leaf crown with tendrils of tiny flowers in turquoise, coral and pale pink were perfect for adding a touch of drama, yet still remaining pretty, feminine and bridal," adds Laura of the choice of accessories. "The other headpiece consisted of vintage elements and gave the most beautiful, glimmering, pastel-colour sparkle. We also used some soft floral pieces in this shoot, the pink Serenity and aqua Zelenka petal pieces added a further touch of colour and sparkle, while the finishing touch of jewellery was an antique pink Swarovski crystal heart necklace and earring set, and a turquoise framed glass necklace and earring set that both reflected the light and provided that lovely pop of colour!"

The ceremony was equally as stand-out, with celebrant Nixie creating a symbolic 'sand ceremony' with a plaited multi ribbon 'hand fasting' cord, while the decor drew every element together: a riot of colour designed to complement the yellow walls achieved through a smattering of ribbons, table decorations and balloons in bold colours combined with a mix of fresh, bright gemini daisies and roses and balloon-inspired stationery.

Throw into the mix a selection of meringues, cake pops, cookies with personalised messages, chocolate covered pretzels and stunning three-tiered cake, as well as colourful candy floss and jars of handmade sugar finished with fabulous handmade glitter dipped cones, and the result is a sensory-packed scene with wow-worthy effect.

"From a wonderful hot air balloon, alpacas and confetti mix for this shoot, we certainly had everything covered!" adds Laura.

Suppliers
Venue - Tawstock Court tawstockcourt.co.uk
Photography - Freeformimages Photography freeformimages.co.uk
Styling - Do Me a Favour domeafavouruk.co.uk
Dress - Casablanca Bridal & Victoria Kay from Always & Forever Bridal devonbridal.co.uk
Flower Girl - Popsqueak popsqueak.co.uk
Jackets - Sammy Lea's Retro Emporium facebook.com/Sammyleasretroemporium
Shoes - Irregular Choice irregularchoice.com
Make-up - Jennifer Rose Make Up Artistry facebook.com/jenniferrosemakeup
Hair - Sam Dare, Bath Bridal Hair bathbridalhair.com
Accessories - Hey Jules heyjules.co.uk
Celebrant - Nixie James-Scott Unique Ceremonies unique-ceremonies.co.uk
Flowers - Petal & Posie facebook.com/petalandposie & Tina Hodgson Fine Flora Design tinahodgson.com
Stationery - Clare's wedding Creations claresweddingcreations.com
Cake - Claire's Sweet Temptations clairessweettemptations.com
Candy Floss - Fluff Boxx fluffboxx.com
Balloon Sculpture - North Devon Party Celebrations northdevonpartycelebrations.co.uk
Sweet Table - Jax's Cakes and Bakes jaxscakesnbakes.com
Confetti - Confetti Supermarket confettisupermarket.com
Alpacas - Cadenza Alpacas cadenzaalpacas.co.uk
Hot Air Balloon - Flying Enterprises flyingenterprises.com
Pottery - Tarka Pottery tarkapottery.co.uk
Runner - Michelle Stanford
Models - Lunar Don Lou, Emily Hemmings, Sian Bartlett & Evette Bowers

Copyright Wed magazine 2019