Wedding Receptions in Cornwall and Devon

Autumn Glam Wedding Style

Glam Metal

Celebrating in the cooler months? Copper tones, glowing candlelight & fresh florals set the scene for a magical modern w-day with a twist of rustic romance


Flanked by mile upon mile of dreamy Devon countryside, Upton Barn and Walled Garden marries the romance of its rustic setting with contemporary design, original features and cosy touches, creating a brilliantly versatile celebration space. It makes the perfect canvas for this gorgeous wedding scheme, which, inspired by the achingly stylish tones of copper and rose gold, is perfect for a modern autumn or winter wedding.

“I wanted to showcase an urban cool edge alongside the timeless rustic elements,” explains Bridget Scott of Blue Fizz Events. A combination of simple muslin napkins and copper feathers, black accents of slate and metallics drenched in flickering candlelight create an impactful – and oh-so beautiful – celebration scene. The simple, stylish stationery, embellished with elegant fonts, copper wire and wax seals, pairs perfectly with the aesthetic.

Dressed with foliage and hugged by copper tea lights, the showstopping cake echoes the palette, while the tumbling cascades of fresh flowers add a gorgeous finishing touch to the tabletop and bridal wear. “Our bride wore a classically edgy Grecian style dress teamed with a duck egg blue skirt and hand dyed ribbons, which were also used on the bouquet in long tangled lengths,” explains Bridget. The eye-catching headwear – comprising bespoke copper headpieces, a dramatic feathered headpiece and a knitted tiara – work beautifully with the intricate braided hair and copper-edged make-up. “The idea is to inspire brides to change their look as the day turns into an evening of firepits, sparklers and dancing under a canopy of fairy lights!” explains Bridget. The groom, meanwhile, oozes classic yet contemporary style. “The tones of greys and soft greens are the perfect palette against the copper and black.”

“Our aisle and entrance were lined with beautiful oil lamps and lanterns, adding to the drama of an autumn or winter wedding with an emphasis on fire, candle and fairy lights to set the scene against darker skies,” she continues. “This is a key look for the year ahead: a combination of laidback elegance with a nod to the urban and strong metallics.”



Photography Maxi Photography www.maxiphotography.com
Styling and direction Blue Fizz Events www.bluefizzevents.co.uk
Table styling, accessories and drapes Blue Fizz Events www.bluefizzevents.co.uk
Location Upton Barn and Walled Garden www.uptonbarn.com
Creative catering and cocktails Pickle Shack www.pickleshack.co.uk
Bridal wear Pirouette www.pirouettethecollection.com
Bridal underskirt Lily and Louie www.lilyandlouie.com
Bridal wear (internal shots) Lily and Louie www.lilyandlouie.com
Grooms wear Samuel Daw and Co www.samdaw.co.uk
Flowers Poppys of Exeter www.poppysofexeter.co.uk
Cake Kate Burt Cakes www.kateburtcakes.co.uk
Stationery Knots and Kisses www.knotsandkisses.co.uk
Hair Bridal Hair by Rosanne www.bridalhairbyrosanne.co.uk
Make-up Genevieve Satha www.genevievesatha.co.uk
Copper headdress and copper accessories The Lucky Sixpence www.theluckysixpence.co.uk
Knitted headdress www.facebook.com/LandofWhiteGinger
Feather headdress Days of Grace www.daysofgracevintage.co.uk
Ribbons of bouquet Kate Cullen www.katecullen.co.uk
Lanterns Zaza Homes www.zazahomes.co.uk
Models Amy F and Toby Thwaites

Copyright Wed magazine 2016