Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Scorrier House, Cornwall

Sunshine of my Life



Sunny skies and fabulous florals made Leigh and Rich’s California-inspired big day a white wedding to remember

A night out brought University of Exeter students Leigh and Rich together when they were just 19 and 20, leading to a “very natural and happy” relationship… and, in time, a romantic beach proposal.

“Rich proposed on a morning stroll along a deserted beach just down the lane from my parents’ home in Cornwall. Shortly after, he whisked me away for a stay at the dreamy Scarlet Hotel in Mawgan Porth. It was a perfect weekend,” recalls Leigh. As wedding planning began, there was one church that had the perfect reason for the couple to hold their ceremony there.

“We got married at St Uny Church in Lelant, which actually overlooks the beach we got engaged on!” says Leigh, who walked down the aisle in a beautiful bespoke jacquard Peter Langner gown with a sweetheart neckline, full skirt and pockets!


“As my wedding gift, Rich gave me a very special necklace, which I wore on the day. It was made with a beautiful diamond from a ring belonging to his mother, who sadly passed away when he was younger. Wearing this felt truly special and that she could be there in some way with us on the day.”

Spilling out into the sunshine after the ceremony, guests boarded double-decker buses, complete with chilled gin and tonic tins to get the party started en route to the reception at Scorrier House. A marquee in the garden meant the couple could make the most of the scenic grounds as well as the house – which housed a cocktail bar and photo booth in the main ballroom. Beautiful sunny weather meant guests were able to enjoy drinks and canapés around the outdoor pool as a jazz band played.

Crisp, clean and white florals adorned the venue, to complement the ‘Californian outdoor wedding’ theme, with a neutral colour scheme. “The trailing staircase creation, complete with candles and glass vases, was just stunning,” says Leigh. “We worked with loads of eucalyptus too so the smells throughout were lovely!”

Guests sat down to sharing platter for starters, including baked Camembert, cured meats, cheeses, breads and prawns. The main course comprised lamb (in a nod to Rich’s Welsh heritage) served with rosemary fries, honey-roasted parsnips and kale, and was finished off with a delightful trio of desserts, as well as a three-tiered cake to enjoy once the speeches got underway.


“When the hilarious speeches were wrapped up, it was on to a night of non-stop dancing!” remembers Leigh. “After our first dance, ‘Look After You’ by The Fray, everyone just piled onto the dance floor to join us. It was such a happy and buzzing moment I’ll never forget.”

And what are Leigh’s top tips for busily planning couples? “First rule: just do you! Try to block out noise from other people and their requests. Remember what you both want at the heart of your wedding and aim to stick to that. The day is about you two, and your family and friends will fit around how you plan your day. Also, don’t be afraid to ask people to help – you might be surprised how many are willing to.”

Photography Kirstin Prisk kirstinprisk.co.uk
Venue St Uny Church & Scorrier House scorrierhouse.co.uk
Marquee Absolute Canvas absolutecanvas.co.uk
Catering Beetham Food beethamfood.co.uk
Dress Peter Langner at Browns Bride brownsbride.com
Shoes Chanel chanel.com
Groom’s outfit Burberry uk.burberry.com
Shoes Russell & Bromley russellandbromley.co.uk
Groomsmen’s suits T.M. Lewin tmlewin.co.uk
Hair Simone Knyita Bridal Hair facebook.com/simoneknyita
Hair accessories Lelet NY leletny.com
Flowers Loulabel loulabelfloraldesign.com
Cake Jane McKellar Cakes facebook.com/pg/Jane-Mckellar-Cakes-575403419481192
Entertainment Classical Strings classicalstrings.co.uk
Fraudio fraudioband.co.uk
Tom Quirke

Copyright Wed magazine 2018