Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Tredudwell Manor

Natural Beauty



A country manor house provided an idyllic backdrop for Amy and Jono’s relaxed celebration

“In the summer of 2008 I was moving back to Bristol for university after a year away and didn’t have anywhere to live,” explains Amy. “A room came up online and I moved in. Jono was in the room next door and we had our first kiss at Glastonbury Festival a month later!” It was while holidaying in Lake Garda that Jono proposed to Amy in the middle of the lake with her late grandmother’s ring, promptly celebrating with a bottle of local Prosecco and a picnic on the boat.



Choosing their wedding venue proved easy as the pair instantly fell in love with Tredudwell Manor, a stunning country manor house nestled in a secluded corner of Cornwall. “It was the first place we looked at and we didn’t want to have it anywhere else after that!” recalls Amy. Drawn to a relaxed and vintage feel, everything from Amy’s ethereal bridal gown to the muted, just-picked style of the flowers, echoed a beautifully natural and informal mood.



The outdoor humanist ceremony proved to be Amy’s highlight of the day. “It reflected our style and values really well: it was funny, emotive and very personal,” she says. Featuring self-penned pieces about what the couple love about each other, the ceremony was staged outside amongst the trees before an arch woven with flowers while their guests sat on hay bales. “It ended with everyone signing ‘Stand By Me’ by Ben E. King!” adds Amy. “It brought everyone into the moment, which was great as sometimes you can feel a bit of a spectator during a wedding ceremony if it’s not you getting married.”



Homemade sloe gin and tonics on the lawn were followed by a scrumptious wedding breakfast. An antipasti picnic featuring the likes of cured meat, houmous, baked Cornish Brie, asparagus and stuffed peppers perfectly primed everyone’s taste buds for the barbecue sharing platters of Cornish mackerel, grilled lamb with salsa verde, and chicken thigh with honey soy and mustard. A lip-smacking dessert trio – toffee profiterole, apple crumble and salted caramel ice cream – completed the fabulous feast.





The delights didn’t end there. Small pots of honey from Amy’s uncle’s bees were given to guests and pasties and cheese later fed evening revellers, who partied to the brilliant bluesy soul sounds of Jessica and the Rabbits before DJ friends took to the helm.



“Delegate!” says Amy when pondering the best advice to share with nearly-weds. “Then stand back and try and take everything in on the day!”





Photography Sarah Falugo www.sarahfalugo.com
Venue Tredudwell Manor www.tredudwell.co.uk
Catering Beetham Food www.beethamfood.co.uk
Dress Catherine Deane www.catherinedeane.com
Headband and jewellery Hermione Harbutt www.hermioneharbutt.com
Bridesmaids’ dresses Y.A.S from ASOS www.asos.com
Hair Tracey Lewarne www.facebook.com/traceyavonlostwithiel
Groom’s outfit Ben Sherman www.bensherman.com Reiss www.reiss.com
Joseph Cheaney www.cheaney.co.uk
Flowers The Blue Carrot www.thebluecarrot.co.uk
Entertainment Jessica and the Rabbits www.jessicaandtherabbits.com
Photo booth Handsome Momento www.handsomemomento.co.uk

Copyright Wed magazine 2016