Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Port Isaac Village Hall, Cornwall

Coast and Country



Naomi and Mike drew on the spring colours of their coastal location to throw a wedding brimming with rustic blooms and pretty details

They say a wedding is a good place to meet your life partner – and Naomi and Mike would wholeheartedly agree. “A mutual friend of ours invited me as her plus-one to a wedding which Mike was also attending,” explains Naomi. “I didn’t know the bride and groom but went along to keep her company and ended up talking to Mike the whole night.”

After a thoughtful proposal involving a surprise pre-Christmas trip to Portmeirion in North Wales, the couple set about planning their dream wedding. The picturesque location of St Enodoc Church came with its challenges – from gaining permission from the local farmer to cross his field to negotiating a herd of cows reluctant to move in a Range Rover – but the extraordinary setting – flanked by sea and sand dunes – was worth it. “I loved walking into the small and intimate church packed with all our loved ones and feeling the overwhelming emotions of love and joy,” remembers Naomi. “It was wonderful having a dance with Mike as Port Isaac Choral sang and looking back to see our families and friends dancing and singing with us.”




Donning an embellished gown, she carried a cluster of white and cream blooms spliced with hints of lavender to echo the shade of her bridesmaids’ dresses and the gorgeous styling of Port Isaac Village Hall, where the reception took place.





“We came up with a ‘coast meets country’ scheme, using muted tones of lavender, grey and blue to reflect the colours of the coastal location in spring,” explains wedding stylist, Elle Winsor Grime of Inspire Hire, who worked with the couple and a team of family and friends to decorate the village hall with beautiful coloured linen, painted vintage chairs, candles and pretty blooms. 



“I loved the freedom and blank canvas of the village hall. Seeing the space transformed into our dream venue and so personal to us was a dream come true,” reflects Naomi. “It was wonderful to see all my friends working with Elle to decorate it.” Friends and family played a central role in helping the pair execute their dream day, from the ring bearer designing personalised map of the venues to the best man making infused spiced rum for favours. 



After a serving of canapés, champagne and tunes from live band, The Grenaways, everyone tucked into a buffet feast of poached salmon and homemade mayonnaise; chicken, mangetout and avocado salad; honey-roasted ham and spinach, feta, apricot and sweet shallot filo pie, before The Hot House Playboys belted out a set of dance floor-filling swing tunes.

Photography Craig Mitchell www.craig-mitchell.co.uk
Venue St Enodoc Church and Port Isaac Village Hall www.portisaacvillagehall.co.uk
Accommodation Trewornan Manor www.trewornanmanor.co.uk
Catering Fee Turner Catering www.feeturnercatering.co.uk
Styling, décor and flowers Inspire Hire www.inspire-hire.co.uk
Dress Maggie Sottero www.maggiesottero.com
Bridesmaids’ dresses Coast www.coast-stores.com
Hair Chloe Mewton 07971 756066
Make-up The Event Studios www.theeventstudios.co.uk
Groom’s outfit Ben Sherman www.bensherman.co.uk
Stationery Hip Hip Hooray www.hiphiphooray.com
Entertainment The Grenaways www.thegrenaways.com
The Hothouse Playboys 07966 534181
Transport Torbay Wedding Car Club www.torbayweddingcarclub.co.uk

Copyright Wed magazine 2016