Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Harlyn House, Cornwall

Gatsby in the Garden



Jessica and Ash threw an utterly gorgeous autumnal wedding at home, filled with rich colours, oodles of personal details and touches of the 1920s

“Thankfully, we both swiped right!” reveals Jessica of her first encounter with Ash. “He was my first and only ever internet date. I was really nervous but then he said, ‘Look, no pressure. Worst-case scenario: we have a new friend, best-case scenario: we fall in love and live happily ever after’. I honestly knew within a few weeks that I would one day marry Ash.”

After the question had been popped, it didn’t take long for the couple to decide that a party at home was the perfect and personal solution. “My parents’ home, Harlyn House, is a large rambling house dating back to 1520,” explains Jessica. “Our favourite feature is the walled garden. It was completely overgrown so the whole family worked extremely hard to get it cleared, ploughed and re-seeded in time for the wedding day.”





Creative designer Jessica created the rich-toned 'Autumnal Rustic Luxe' themed event, plumping for a dark and berry palette softened with neutral shades. “It quickly became known as our ‘Gatsby in the Garden’ wedding,” she says. The sumptuous tones featured in many of the details, from the bridesmaids’ nails and dark fur shawls to the claret bow ties and oversized bouquets. “We wanted the bouquets to look like they had been scooped up rather than precisely arranged,” explains Jessica, who donned a stunning Claire Pettibone gown which complemented the rich, romantic aesthetic of Ash’s claret Burberry suit.

While carefully chosen vintage furnishings and props brought the rustic vibe to life, it was the personality-packed details that brought a distinctive and dazzling touch to their day. The couple combined Jessica’s love of movies and Ash’s love of books for the table plan, which was a homage of movies adapted from books. Jessica commissioned their own unique signage, logo, badges, a newspaper and a special gift to Ash – “a handmade personalised 'wedding bar' that will eventually go into our house,” each of which created show-stopping, much talked-about centrepieces. And, as she also runs a side business in making personalised characters and toppers (ohmyhero.co.uk), the creative bride even crafted their personalised cake topper.

The ceremony was a beautifully personal affair, with the couple exchanging self-penned vows beneath the 200-year-old archway to the walled garden.

The live music lovers ensured every section of the day featured an evocative performance, from John Adams’ rendition of ‘Can’t Help Falling in Love With You’ for Jessica’s walk down the aisle and The Deco Quartet’s soundtrack to the drinks reception to her mother’s tear-inducing performance of ‘Make You Feel My Love’ for the first dance. Love Gap ensured the dance floor was buzzing throughout the evening, while Cornwall Caricatures and Alfie the Black Cab photo booth added an extra element of fun to the party.

The food was another crowd-pleaser: Dartmoor Kitchen served sharing platters of beef carpaccio, truffle mayonnaise, parmesan and baked soft cheese followed by a delectable trio of miniature desserts: chocolate brownie, rhubarb pavlova and lemon cheesecake.




“It’s ridiculous to say this and I scoffed when other brides on blogs said it – but don’t stress too much!” announces Jessica. “My friends had to stage an intervention the Thursday before the wedding by grabbing me and forcing me to sit down and have a glass of wine because I was acting like a lunatic!”

“Also, book something for the night before,” she advises other couples in order to help chill-out and kick-start the celebrations. “We had Rick Stein’s private chefs come in and cook for a lovely evening of sushi and cocktails while we had our manicures. It was really relaxing and nice to spend some time alone with the girls and thank them for putting up with me.”

Photography Claire Penn www.clairepenn.com
Venue Harlyn House
Marquee LPM Bohemia www.lpmbohemia.com
Wedding on-the-day co-ordinator Sarah Vaux www.sarahvaux.co.uk
Celebrants The Guild of Cornish Celebrants www.cornishcelebrants.co.uk
Accessories The Prop Factory www.propfactory.co.uk
Virginia's Vintage Hire www.virginiasvintagehire.co.uk
Dress Claire Pettibone from The Bridal House Cornwall
www.thebridalhouseofcornwall.co.uk
Hairpiece Hermione Harbutt www.hermioneharbutt.com
Bridesmaid dresses Adrianna Papell www.adriannapapell.com
Flower girl outfit Anagrassia www.anagrassia.com
Hair Alana Rickard www.facebook.com/kernowgirlhairdesign/
Make-up Lindsay Adams www.lamakeupcornwall.co.uk
Groom's suit Burberry www.burberry.com
Flowers Juliet Glaves www.julietglaves.com
Catering Dartmoor Kitchen www.dartmoorkitchen.co.uk
Lewis from Wild Bake www.wildbake.co.uk
Transport Vintage Wheels www.vintage-wheels.co.uk
Stationery, signage and bar Made by Wood&Wood www.madebywoodandwood.com
Cake Strong Adolfos www.strongadolfos.com
Cake topper Oh My Hero www.ohmyhero.co.uk
Videographer Gione www.gionedasilva.com
Entertainment John Adams www.johnadamsmusic.co.uk
The Deco Quartet www.thedecoquartet.co.uk
Love Gap www.myspace.com/love-gap
Cornwall Caricatures www.cornwallcaricatures.co.uk
Photo booth Alfie the Black Cab Photo Booth www.alfietheblackcabbooth.co.uk

Copyright Wed Magazine 2017