Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Haldon Belvedere, Devon

Home Sweet Home



A meaningful venue set the tone for Karys and Ollie’s handcrafted wedding day, which was awash with rustic and personal touches

Karys and Ollie managed to achieve something that many engaged couples struggle to do: get married at their dream venue.

“I have always dreamt of getting married at Haldon Belvedere as I could see the castle from my bedroom window when I lived with my parents at their farm in Whitestone,” reveals Karys. “We wanted an intimate ceremony with just our family and close friends, and the views are absolutely breathtaking there.”





The couple also managed to tick another box by hosting their reception at Karys’ parents’ farm. “It has been a childhood dream to have my wedding reception there because it holds such amazing memories. It’s such a beautiful setting as it is high on a hill with panoramic views across Devon,” she explains.

Inspired by the wild flowers surrounding the farm, the blue and white colour scheme reflected the setting while allowing the couple to stamp their individual design on the décor. From mismatched blue and white china plates and handmade bunting to gin bottles filled with candles and flowers – to reflect the couple’s favourite tipple – the scene was awash with personal details.

Their rustic country theme was enhanced by touches such as a wheelbarrow filled with beer, flowers arranged in milk churns, and the wedding cake stand and table centrepieces made from trees sourced from the farm.

Local and seasonal food featured on the feasting menu that included slow-cooked Dexter beef and harissa lamb. A ‘summer berry fumble’ – a delicious crumble and Eton Mess mix – was served in individual mason jars to complete the feast.




“My favourite moment – apart from my first kiss with my husband – was sitting next to Ollie looking out at all of our friends and family enjoying themselves and sharing our first meal with us as husband and wife,” says Karys. “The laughter and the buzz of chatter from every table made us feel so lucky to have such wonderful people in our lives.”

Extolling the virtues of a wedding day replete with personal detail, she advises other couples to pay attention to the minutiae. “Once you have made the bigger decisions such as suppliers, the dress and the location, focus on the finer details to make your day unique. Your wedding is to celebrate your love for each other and tailoring your day to who you are as a couple, whether that be through the décor, the food, or songs that you play. It will make it even more memorable.”

Her other top tip? “If people offer their help, accept it! They want to be a part of making sure your wedding goes the way you want it to and we have such wonderful memories with family and friends who helped us to create our perfect day.”

Photography Thomas Frost Photography thomasfrostphotography.com
Venue Haldon Belvedere haldonbelvedere.co.uk
Dress Ronald Joyce ronaldjoyce.com
Alterations Pirouette pirouettethecollection.com
Bridesmaid’s dresses Hobbs hobbs.co.uk
Make-up Finishing Touch thatfinishingtouch.co.uk
Flowers Peamore Flora peamoreflora.co.uk
Catering Rusty Pig rustypig.co.uk
Bar Hanlons Brewery hanlonsbrewery.com
Transport Wedding and Executive Car Hire weddingandexecutivecarhire.co.uk
Entertainment Classic Sounds classic-sounds.co.uk
Basher Tate bashertate.co.uk


Copyright Wed magazine 2018