Got Wed - Real Weddings in Cornwall and Devon

Wedding at Bre-Pen Farm, Cornwall

North Coast Romance



Sunshine, greenery and rustic details created a magical scene for Charlotte and Alex’s clifftop wedding

“On Alex's birthday I treated us to a stay at The Scarlet,” recalls Charlotte. “He walked our boxer dog, Floyd, on his own down to the beach and wrote a message in the sand asking me to marry him. He saved the image, printed it out and hung it around Floyd's neck on Christmas morning – we then had both families at ours all day so we could celebrate with them all!”

The couple returned to this spectacular spot on the north coast for their wedding, staging an al fresco ceremony on the clifftop at Bre-Pen Farm. Opting for a ‘rustic romance’ aesthetic, it was a pretty-as-a-picture scene: flanked by bridesmaids in floaty powder blue frocks, Charlotte wore an off-the-shoulder Pronovias gown, while Alex donned a sharp blue suit. They took their vows before an arch woven with foliage and softly coloured blooms, framing the far-reaching views across the Atlantic Ocean.



Enlisting the expert help of Elle Winsor-Grime of Inspire Hire, the marquee was styled beautifully with florals and foliage suspended from the ceiling and pretty clusters of blooms, candles and vintage bottles as table centrepieces.

Folk band The Stowes entertained guests as they tucked into canapés, Pimm’s and champagne before a wedding breakfast presented the likes of scallops, monkfish and sirloin of beef. Performing an acoustic during the feast, The Fanatics revved up the tempo for the evening party, followed by a crowd-pleasing DJ set that kept the party in full swing well into the small hours.

Taking advantage of the hot weather and scenic setting, the newly-weds hosted a barbecue and pool party the following day at The Park “so we could reminisce with everyone and have a bit more quality time with our guests.”



Looking back, both Charlotte and Alex share the same fond memories from their day. “For both of us it had to be when we first saw each other once I’d walked up the aisle,” says Charlotte. “Also, Alex’s uncle was our toastmaster and he really got everyone in the party spirit before we entered for our wedding breakfast. He had them all swinging their napkins in the air and cheering!”

As with many modern married couples, Charlotte recommends keeping things personal, doing it your own way – and asking others for help. “Don't take on too much yourselves,” she says. “Be confident that your vision will come together in the end and don't try to please other people too much – remember: it's your day!”

Photography Gavin Conlan www.gavinconlan.com
Venue Bre-Pen Farm www.bre-penfarm.co.uk
Styling, prop hire and flowers Inspire Hire www.inspire-hire.co.uk
Dress Pronovias www.promovias.com/gb
Bridesmaids’ dresses ASOS www.asos.com
Hair Mustard Salon www.mustardhairdressing.com
Make-up Lauren Head at Bijoux Beauty www.bijouxbeauty.me
Groom's outfit Thom Sweeney www.thomsweeney.co.uk
Shoes Oliver Sweeney www.oliversweeney.com
Entertainment The Stowes www.stowesmusic.co.uk
The Fanatics www.thefanatics.com

Copyright Wed magazine 2016